Reviews

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

“Olga your back?! But you’ve been gone for so long and said you were back a month ago?! What’s happened?!” Yes, I was here, then there, then nowhere, and now everywhere. I needed a mental health week…month…months. I thought I was okay and found out I wasn’t. A bunch of mumbo jumbo I don’t need to bore you with BECAUSE you are here to fangirl with me over how freaking ducking fantastic this book is!! I would like to thank the book bloggers who consistently tagged me and liked old posts. You are the awesomest! You were a huge part in my motivation to continue here! I’ve had a four day weekend and read this book all in one day. Yes, I know. My dream come true! Let’s discuss the beauty:


Full-TOG-198x300

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA Fantasy

Published August 7th 2012 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Learn more about the author and further publications at: http://sarahjmaas.com

Rating: FullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

Goodreads Blurb: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

FullSizeRender

Oh. My. Shit. Stain. Sarah J. Maas is the master at descriptions and kick ass characters. I admit it. I never thought I would get the chance to gush before summer break, but here I am, prepared to fangirl so hard my fingers will break off and run for the hills. I already know many have already read TOG so this review will be short and concise. (mostly obsessive rambling on how lucky I am)

Pros:

  • THE CHARACTERS. Celaena is -I don’t know how to proceed without worrying therapists across the nation- the greatest and sassiest assassin there is. There goes my chance at working in the law field! No superb toy gun for moi. Whenever she wielded her sword and kicked a competitor into next week, I couldn’t help adore her character more! DORIAN. The playboy but charming prince. He’s not all playboy though. He was mostly a hardcore flirt with no particular agenda. Dorian Havilliard is the sweetest, giving gifts to Celaena who is ruthless and shows no fear to anyone. CHAOL. My oh my. Captain of the Guard didn’t give me the fuzzies when he was introduced. He was so damn cranky and never revealed most of his feelings until the last chapter. In the blurb above, it says Chaol Westfall knew her best… I didn’t buy it. He judged her. A lot. I thought Dorian and her were closer because of how easily they got along when they weren’t trying to out-snark each other. Although chapters later, Chaol grew on me aside his attitude you can sort of see the attraction he had towards Celaena. PRINCESS NEHEMIA YTGER. She’s wonderful! I loved her flippant attitude to the people who believed they were worth everything like Kaltain Rompier. Thankfully, Kaltain proved the quote “good things only happen to good people” or “karma exists”. You will get the gist once you read it. *wink wink*
  • Descriptions. Sarah did these justice. I never once wondered how the setting looked or someone because she detailed it to the hair without straying from the point. I read that this series took her awhile to write and I’m glad this was the final copy.
  • The building to the climax and to the somewhat of a resolution was elegantly said. I can’t hate on any special moment. I’m sorry. I just can not.

Cons:

  • There were a few long gaps when a certain character wouldn’t be mentioned and you would’ve thought they disappeared completely. It wasn’t until pages after you discovered they were still there and a random excuse was given for their absence. For example, Princess Nehemia would have a chapter with Celaena and wouldn’t be talked about until five chapters later. Somewhere, there would be a line thrown at your face saying she was just busy and I thought “okayyyy….moving on I guess.”  Did anyone else notice that??

That’s the only minor problem I had. Everything else was pure bliss to read and each page was worth the turn. Because I’m ridiculous, I’ve read reviews on the next books and I don’t like what I’m seeing. Some say it’s an amazing read and others are speaking of the huge changes that have directed the book into a new unexpected direction. I don’t know what to make of this because I seriously want to continue, but the last book will not come out for awhile and I need all of them in from of me before I cry. Should I go on or stop here?! Oh. I can’t. I need to read. Ugh pug!


Thank you so much for reading. How did I do for my first review back? Did you enjoy the badass Celaena moments as much as I did? Who do you love- DORIAN or CHAOL? Did you dislike Kaltain as much as I did? Do you adore Princess Nehemia’s bravery? 

FullSizeRender 2

21 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas”

  1. I was a bit meh about this to be perfectly honest, but I am so glad to hear you enjoyed it so much! 🙂 I’m curious to see what you think of the rest of the series. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! You are amazing! Did you read the whole series yet? Based on what people have said, I’m gonna keep my expectations to a minimum and see how it goes from there.

      Like

    1. Yes!! Chaol knowing how to handle every weapon known to man and beating Celeana in a match is going in the “pro” section. I love her as well, right now and I hope I can somehow comprehend her decisions in the series. Thank you so much and I’ll check it out now!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AAAHHH I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, Olga!!! I can’t wait to see what you have to say about Crown of Midnight ^^
    I’m honestly such Chaol trash. I was Chaol trash even when there was crankiness and hidden feelings going on. I can’t help it! I love Dorian to bits but Chaol ❤
    I never realized that characters missing for a while thing… I guess there was so much going on all the time that I kind of not noticed? I can see it being an issue, though.
    Wonderful review, darling! And glad to see you're back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m waiting till I can sit and write a formal review! OH GOSH. I don’t know who’s more popular anymore. Chaol or Dorian. I will feel terrible if either get injured or heart broken! Yeah, that also could be just me because I could’ve zoned out while staring at food.😂You just never know. Thank you, Sophie! Your too freaking awesome!!😭❤️

      Like

  3. You are an awesome reviewer! Celeana only gets more epic as the series goes on. I do get that it’s really annoying during those long period of time in which certain characters are absent (that continues. Chaol is pretty much absent in the entire fifth book). I can’t wait to see what you think of the rest of the series! I really don’t want to spoil, so I’ll stop talking now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bella! You are too a magnificent writer! Oh god, now I’m anxious and immensely excited for what’s to come. Do you like Chaol? Celeana and her confidence is driving me to go on so I pray she doesn’t change drastically. That’s just fine! If you give me hints, I’ll read the books faster. Do all the books end in huge cliffhangers by the way?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I really liked Chaol in books 1-3, but now I’m kinda neutral about him. The only book that ends in a huge cliffhanger is Empire of Storms, which sucks because the last book isn’t out. Queen of Shadows has a really satisfying ending though.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hopefully, Sarah will release a small excerpt of the last book. Since it’s a few months till Christmas, I think it be very inappropriate if she didn’t give something to fanatics like us!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay. First. I’m so glad your back! I hope your break was restful and rejuvenating! Secondly, my love for Chaol is endless, limitless and stretched to the ends of the universe and beyond. The Captain had me swooning since day one! I loved Dorian too, he’s like my little puppy that I need to protect! As for the rest of the series….I would be one of those people who stops loving it because of the direction it is going in. Mind you I have yet to read the fifth book, but from reading the fourth book I already know I’m not going to like it. But that’s me. If you want to go on, then go on by all means. But it is true the story you know now is not even close to the story it evolved into. Still, I loved your review because I loved this book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it definitely was and I’m glad to be! Your Team Chaol! Is he okay in the last book you’ve read about him?! He’s grown on me and I’ll panic if that Captain isn’t happy. I heard he’s getting his own book that’s being released next September. I’m not hearing great things with Dorian either and your right! He’s a precious puppy. I’m going to have to read the rest of the series for the sake of my curiosity. If things go south, I can merely close the book and pick up ACOWAR immediately so I don’t lose it. Thank you so much and I’m going to hold unto this book like a lifeline while reading the rest of the series!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I hope he gets his happy ending. If Sarah J. Maas ever does a ten years later thing, you can find Chaol laughing with his children! I better get my box of tissues prepared to soak up my tears!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Can I just say you blew my mind? You really effen did. And now I’ve got to go request this book. U make me do work. For a strong passion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev, you are the bestest! Yeah I know that isn’t a word but whatever. Thank you for helping me do this.

      Like

      1. You don’t need to thank me. You did it all yourself. Be proud of yourself Olga. Because I sure as hell am. KEEP UP THE AMAZING WORK. LOOKING FORWARD TO NEW BOOK REVIEWS. 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

