Book Review- Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick

20909906Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick

Genres: Thriller, Mystery

Blurb:

A teen is forced to make a fresh start after witnessing a violent crime—but love and danger find her anyway in this novel from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.

As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks…

FullSizeRender

The blurb incorporates mystery and thriller bits like letters in tasty alphabet soup so I immediately ordered! Becca beguiled millions with her series Hush Hush and I couldn’t wait to read this installment! Here you’ll follow the thoughts and ideas of Stella Gordon, critical ungrateful witness. I know some disliked her so much they closed the book, but she wasn’t that irritating after you get past the rudeness, whininess, and stubbornness…Er. Can anyone ignore that?

Stella is an adolescent trapped in Thunder Basin for her protection. I didn’t like her I-don’t-care-about-noone attitude. She was ungrateful for obtaining another chance at having a tranquil life. A boyfriend, Reed, was mentioned in the first chapter whom Stella repeats she loves and can’t stand to be apart from. Although with a new town, comes new people leading to new heart eye guy. His name is Chet Falconer. Heavily built, MIGHTY GOOD looking older dude. To better explain it, you know those original romance stories where there’s the sexy cowboy who the girl can’t get enough of. Yeah, this was exactly that. I surprisingly loved it. If your into those, this book could be for you! The sparks between Chet and Stella were undeniable to miss! They were like these shooting glittering rockets in the night. Becca does such a fantastic job at the romance that moi has to fangirl!! I really liked a character named Inny. I found her spunk and strength estimable. She’s a pregnant teen and I remarkably craved for her story to be further detailed.

I didn’t like the banality in the lines and there was a whole pot of it. There was no originality in the surprises either. There was partially a major reveal. It didn’t satisfy the thriller need hole I have in my bookish heart. Mystery feels were anguished long before the climax came because the twists were expected. There were minor loose ties that were left hanging midair. Because of the writing, I saw people questioning Becca’s capability at being an author. I found that harsh reviewing she does have a best-selling series in her back pocket, but I see too their POV. Truthfully, should I have not read Hush Hush, I’d likely be typing the same. I see the book as a Contemporary Romance read than Thriller and Mystery. These cons had a big effect on my rating. What saved it was the romance and extra characters. Dangerous Lies might not be top shelf, yet I can’t help but love the dynamic!

My choice for best quote~ “Did you happen to see what time slot they gave me?”  ‘Eight o’clock. All eyes, er, lips will be on you.’  I dug into my purse for a tube of lip balm and tucked it into the front pocket of his tee. ‘ A friendly deed for a friend in need. Halfway through your shift, you’ll thank me.’  He dug out the tube and read the label – creme de menthe flavored. ‘For real? This is as close as I’m getting to touching your lips tonight?”

My Rating:FullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

Buy it here should you be interested! – Amazon & Barnes and Noble

Anyone heard of this author? Have you read any of her books? Would you think of getting it even after what I’ve wrote? Let’s talk!


Thanks for reading. Hope you have a great day and see you next time!

FullSizeRender 2What’s Next:

Book Blitz & Giveaway

Quote of the Week

Book Review

 

 

3 comments

    • Yeah it is!😊 I was scrolling through Netflix and saw Law and Order so, of course, I needed to add a mini detective. OH I’m happy I’ve helped you decide! Thank you😊💘 I was worried this new format wouldn’t be nice, but I’m super duper happy. Your so great, Mandy!!

      Like

  1. Might I just say, your words of wisdom made me reorganize my mentality on books. You did amazing dude. Keep doing what you love best. You’re being recognized for your vivid passion of literature and inspired me to keep doing what I love to do as well. Which isn’t exercising, people. I’d say this was really interesting from your perspective. And I’m looking forward to future reviews on books from you. Keep it up!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

