Book Review- The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun Is Also a StarThe Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction

Blurb:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

FullSizeRender

I HAVE MUCH TO DISCUSS SO PLEASE STAY WITH ME HERE.

I didn’t want this novel to be super cliche and be about “love at first sight” and blah blah blah. I tend to pull away from those books since I’m not a believer. Anyone else feel the same? BUT Ladies and gents of the book jury let me just say, it entered my forever loving reading sanctuary! BLESS NACHOS.

Plot~

French fries would be dancing around right at the moment and cheer on, but I ate them all so sadly your stuck with me. What primarily drew me to this book is the talk about coincidences and how they affect your life. The Universe and all that jazz choosing what happens when for the best outcome. The entire story took place in ONE day which is amazeballs because it felt like MONTHS of AWESOME.

Natasha, an undocumented immigrant, was spending her last day in the U.S. and Daniel was heading to an admission’s meeting for Yale. Fate and destiny did crazy things for them to find another. These coincidences that kept happening had me at a “how didn’t you not see her/him?! LOOK BEHIND YOU DUMB POP!” moment but I remained grinning like a drugged Cheshire cat! The thing about this book is that it made you want to believe in hopeful tales but it still kept you focused on reality. It didn’t make you frown thinking something like that can never happen because of the setting and how it was incredibly well-written.

The main POVS are, of course, from science lover Natasha and poetic Daniel, but the author included pieces of another character’s story and how they were doing in the moment. I didn’t think it withheld any significance until I went deeper into the book. It also includes chapters based solely on the ideas mentioned throughout that gives you incredible insight and enhances the meaning of what the author writes. For example, Nicola Yoon dedicated a page or two to love involving science, culture, etymology, and theories.

The reason it took me awhile to finish was because of the start. I wasn’t into it. The pace was sort of slow and I had no problem lying the book down to go to sleep. (WHAT A CRIMINAL I AM. I CAN’T BELIEVE TO FATHOM WHAT I WAS THINKING IN MY COCONUT BRAIN.) Their introductions felt like as if they were stretched out into multiple chapters and the extras like what was everyone else thinking increased the pile. It seemed like a burden sometimes…

While watching an Avenger’s movie on Sunday and listening to the hero music, I imagined myself in my costume and saying, “I must do this. I must finish.” *hero glare at the sky and hands on hips* , which obviously got me inspired!

Going through the pages reading, I finally arrived to the part where they met. It was nothing like love at first sight and doey eyes. Daniel was attracted to Natasha and she thought he was a level 100 stalker at a point… It was anything but L.A.F.S. Knowing already that it would differ from the usual, I laughed at the way they spoke and loosened up. I’m almost sure the reason I struggled in the beginning was because I was anxious on what could occur. To not get off base if you become tiresome in the beginning just know the plot has a lot of FANTASTICALNESS it has yet to show! The connection after they met made me giddy inside AND outside but I was begging to learn as much as I could about them EVERY minute. I was basically hard core third wheeling. The way they revealed so much soothly and calmly about each other is an enticing pro to the development. Nicola Yoon developed the chemistry so well!

Characters~

Natasha, a Jamaican high school girl, is a realist. She lives by the facts and tends to not wander off into her dreams. Every question you throw at her she will aim back with scientific information. In her head it’s all made up. She believes there’s no adventure in life. It’s only your given birth to, you walk around for a couple of years, and you plain out die leaving no mark behind. Her attitude is what people usually tend to feel these days especially when in a slump so the way her character was or responded didn’t irritate me. If anything I pitied her. To be able to say things like that would have to mean life has taken you across MESSEDUP Valley and somehow landed on LIFEISFUDGEDUP planet.

Daniel, Korean American teenage boy, who spent the whole time walking around the streets of New York with a gray suit and bright red tie. He’s a geeky adorable dorky hot funny male like SIMON LEWIS from The Mortal Instruments and well he’s just BEAUTIFUL in my eyes! He is the dreamer. Daniel has hope for everything and is not always able to express his feelings in the correct way but around Natasha he can’t shut his trap. Stereotypically the girl is the person to believe in true love but Sweet Perfect Hilarious Daniel is like that not his Natasha. His hope makes you have it too! I don’t even know how that’s possible and I should stop before I order every American of Korean background to fill out a survey…

Besides them, there were characters that riled me up because of the way they were. They tried to fight against what Natasha or Daniel wanted. Others complimented the story nicely and I have nothing negative to say about them. I wouldn’t characterize anyone as a villain. The villain for me was time itself since they didn’t how much longer they had.

Quotes from The Sun Is Also a Star~

“People spend their whole lives looking for love. Poems and songs and entire novels are written about it. But how can you trust something that can end as suddenly as it begins?”

“Save me from the nice and sincere boys who feel things too deeply.”

”Her face dares me to ask her more, but I’ve reached my quota of daring things (1 = following cute girl, 2 = yelling at ex-boyfriend of cute girl, 3 = saving life of cute girl, 4 = asking out cute girl) for the day.”

”I’ll be a great doctor with excellent bedside skills.
I’ll be perfectly happy.
But something about Natasha makes me think my life could be extraordinary.”

“I don’t believe in love.” “It’s not a religion,” he says. “It exists whether you believe in it or not.”

“We’re kindling amid lightning strikes, a lit match and dry wood, fire danger signs and a forest waiting to be burned.”

Summarization:

Pushing to the far side how I felt in the beginning, the book was the sweetest type of read. The love and realism attached together in a book WITH characters who will leave an imprint on your heart is immeasurable greatness. If this seems like your cup of tea, don’t hesitate to tackle the bookcases in search for it!

My rating:FullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

Want to read it now? Purchase it now!- Amazon & Barnes and Noble


Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading. Has anyone else read the book yet? Is it on your TBR? Share in comments! Have a great day beautiful people and always be kind and don’t lose your mind. 

FullSizeRender 2

What’s next:

*Cover Reveals and/or book blitzes & giveaways could be added at any time.

Quote of the Week

March 10th to March 14th, 2017- Book Blitz & Giveaway

March 10th for sure- Blog Tour Excerpt

Award Post

4 thoughts on “Book Review- The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

